The Financial Cost of an OVI Conviction in Ohio
OVI offenses in Ohio are punished substantially. Even a first OVI conviction will earn the offender an administrative license suspension of 90 days, in addition to a court-ordered driver’s license suspension, which will be between six months and three years. Penalties for the OVI offenses are set according to blood alcohol content (BAC) level. If the BAC was between .08 percent and .17 percent, there is a mandatory three-day jail stay.
|Offense||Jail||Fine||Administrative License Suspension||Court License Suspension|
|First Offense||72 hours minimum||$375 plus court costs||$475 reinstatement90 days to 5 years||6 months minimum|
|Second Offense||10 consecutive days||$525 plus court costs||$475 reinstatement90 days to 5 years||1 year minimum|
|Third Offense||30 consecutive days||$850 plus court costs||$475 reinstatement90 days to 5 years||2 year minimum|
Consider a first time DUI offense. Fines imposed by the State of Ohio can range from $200 to $1,100. Attorney fees for a first offense might range between $2,000 and $5,000. Keep in mind that the cost of mounting a legal defense could increase with each offense. If the court orders you to take substance abuse intervention courses, those fees run between $100 and $500.
If the court determines that an ignition interlock system is necessary, after completing your mandatory license suspension, the cost for installing and paying for three months of monitoring runs between about $300 and $400. The real kicker financially is in increased insurance costs. These added insurance premiums might last up to three years, provided there are no more OVI offenses. Then add in the lost income as a result of jail time and court appearances of from one to four weeks. Then the there is also the cost of driver’s license reinstatement, which is $475. Then you should figure in the cost of alternate transportation (bus, taxi, rail) while your license is suspended. This brings the total for a first offense DUI or OVI to between $7,000 and more than $16,000 at a minimum.
A fourth or fifth offense in six years or a sixth offense in twenty years enters the territory of felony charges. Felony OVI charges carry mandatory jail or prison time, $850 minimum fine plus court costs, and mandatory driver’s license suspensions of from three years to life.
Any OVI will result in you being issued the restricted yellow and red licenses plates, which identify you to other drivers as having been convicted of an OVI offense.
Need an OVI attorney in Columbus, Ohio?
If you’re facing DUI or OVI charges in Columbus, Ohio, you need an experienced attorney who will review your case and create a strategy to either win the case or mitigate the potential damage to your record. This will protect your driving record, your license, and possibly even your livelihood. The skilled, trusted legal representation Probst Law Office offers the help you need to be sure you have the best representation possible in fighting DUI/OVI charges. Get the experience that you need and deserve when you hire Michael Probst as your attorney. Contact Michael today for your free consultation, or call now at 614-232-8890.