What Not to do While Driving
The list of “what not to do” while you are driving can be summarized as “do not do anything but DRIVE.” Driving is an activity that requires full and complete attention to the task. Anything that distracts you from that task puts you and everyone else on the road with you at risk.
While there are many things you should not do while driving, driving under the influence or while you’re impaired is one of the major ones, and occurs more commonly than it should. If you choose to drink and drive, here is what you may experience:
If you have been pulled over and suspected of driving while under the influence (DUI) or operating a vehicle while impaired (OVI), the law enforcement officer may administer a field sobriety test to you. Field sobriety tests are given to people who law enforcement suspect of DUI or OVI. Despite what the law enforcement official tells you, field sobriety tests are not mandatory.
The law enforcement officer, during these tests, is trying to observe you to determine if there is probable cause to arrest you for DUI or OVI. The problem is that field sobriety tests can be tricky to pass even stone cold sober, and evaluation of them is entirely subjective. Be aware that during this stop you are on camera. Most police cruisers are equipped with video recording equipment.
Typically, officers will administer one, two, or all three of the following field sobriety tests:
Walk and turn: In this test the officer will ask you to take nine steps in a straight line, walking heel to toe, then turn on a single foot and walk back the same way.
Horizontal gaze nystagmus: When this test is administered, the officer is trying to determine if there is an involuntary jerking of your eyes and if you are unable to smoothly follow an object left and right with your eyes.
One-leg stand: In this test you’ll be told to stand on one leg and count until instructed to stop, while the officer looks for imbalance.
Just to be clear, you are not required to take field sobriety tests, however, if you are arrested, you may be required to take chemical tests – such as blood, breath or urine tests – or face losing your driver’s license.
This chart gives you an idea of the penalties for DUI or OVI.
|Offense||Jail||Fine||Court License Suspension|
|First Offense||72 hours minimum||$375 plus court costs||6 months minimum|
|Second Offense||10 consecutive days||$525 plus court costs||1 year minimum|
|Third Offense||30 consecutive days||$850 plus court costs||2 year minimum|
In addition to these penalties, you will receive an administrative license suspension of between 90 days and five years. Once your suspension has been served, you will pay $475 to reinstate your driver’s license, and faced dramatically increased insurance rates as a result of a DUI conviction.
Do You Need a Reliable Sobriety Test Attorney in Columbus, Ohio?
If you’re facing DUI or OVI charges in Columbus, Ohio, you need an experienced attorney well versed in sobriety tests that will review your case and create a strategy to either win the case or mitigate the potential damage to your record. This will protect your driving record, your license, and possibly even your livelihood. The skilled, trusted legal representation at Probst Law Office offers the help you need to be sure you have the best representation possible in fighting DUI/OVI charges. Get the experience that you need and deserve when you hire Michael Probst as your attorney. Contact Michael today for your free consultation, or call now at 614-656-4508.