DUI Penalties in Ohio
DUI (driving under the influence) or OVI (operating a vehicle under the influence) penalties in Ohio are substantial. If you have been arrested and charged with DUI, you need to get qualified, experienced legal representation to help mitigate the damage that a conviction could do to your record, your present and your future.
Your first DUI conviction means that you will have a 90-day administrative license suspension, plus whatever the court chooses to impose in addition to the 90 days, which could be between six months and three years. Furthermore, if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was between .08 percent and .17 percent, there is a mandatory three-day jail stay. A second offense within six years will earn you a one year driver’s license suspension, a third offense means a two year suspension, and a fourth DUI within six years will mean a whopping three year driver’s license suspension. The court may grant you limited driving privileges to attend school, go to work, or get to medical appointments, but there is no guarantee and no obligation for the court to do so.
|Offense||Jail||Fine||Administrative License Suspension||Court License Suspension|
|First Offense||72 hours minimum||$375 plus court costs||90 days||6 months minimum|
|Second Offense||10 consecutive days||$525 plus court costs||1 year|
|1 year minimum|
|Third Offense||30 consecutive days||$850 plus court costs||2 years||2 year minimum|
In addition to jail time, license suspension, and court fees, the expenses for a DUI conviction just continue to mount. A DUI conviction will dramatically impact your insurance rates, and when your employer gets wind of the conviction, you could well lose your job. And if the judge in your case decides that an ignition interlock system is needed to keep the public safe from you drinking and driving after you have completed your mandatory license suspension, the cost to install and pay for three months of monitoring runs between $300 and $400. If you are able to keep your job through this, it is a certainty you will miss work as a result of jail time and court appearances. This could be in the range of one to four weeks. Reinstating your driver’s license after it has been suspended will cost $475. The small bit of good news here is that the state will allow you to make these payments on a payment plan of $50 or more per month until the $475 is paid. But to reinstate your license you must also have valid auto insurance. So all totaled, the costs of a first DUI could easily range from $7,000 to $16,000, which makes the penalties for DUI in Ohio substantial in anyone’s book.
Need an OVI attorney in Columbus, Ohio?
If you’re facing DUI or OVI charges in Columbus, Ohio, you need an experienced attorney who will review your case and create a strategy to either win the case or mitigate the potential damage to your record. This will protect your driving record, your license, and possibly even your livelihood. The skilled, trusted legal representation Probst Law Office offers the help you need to be sure you have the best representation possible in fighting DUI/OVI charges. Get the experience that you need and deserve when you hire Michael Probst as your attorney. Contact Michael today for your free consultation, or call now at 614-232-8890.